CALL FOR PAPERS

4th IEEE International Conference on Computational Advances in Bio and Medical Sciences (ICCABS) June 2-4, Miami Beach Resort and Spa, Miami Beach, FL, USA

Advances in high-throughput technologies such as DNA sequencing and mass spectrometry are profoundly transforming life sciences, resulting in the collection of unprecedented amounts of biological and medical data. Using this data to advance our knowledge about fundamental biological processes and improve human health requires novel computational models and advanced analysis algorithms. IEEE ICCABS aims to bring together leading academic and industry researchers to discuss the latest advances in computational methods for bio and medical sciences.

Topics of interest include but are not limited to:

- **Biological modeling and simulation** (Molecular and cellular modeling, stochastic and rule-based modeling, modeling languages and systems);
- **Biomedical image processing (**Image segmentation and classification, visualization, functional and molecular imaging);
- **Biomedical data and literature mining (**Data integration, knowledge discovery from electronic medical records and scientific literature);
- **Computational genetic epidemiology** (Linkage and association analysis, gene-gene and gene-environment interaction modeling, genetic risk analysis);
- **Computational metabolomics** (Metabolomics databases, metabolite identification, spectral analysis, metabolic network modeling);
- **Computational proteomics** (Peptide identification and quantification, post-translational modifications, protein-protein interactions);
- **Databases and ontologies** (Biomedical data warehouses, database integration, biomedical ontologies and semantic web services);
- **Gene regulation** (Regulatory motifs and modules, post-transcriptional regulation, regulatory networks);
- **Genome analysis** (Genome assembly, genome annotation, comparative genomics, metagenomics);
- **Health Informatics** (Medical data management and privacy, medical recommender systems, therapy optimization);
- **High-performance bio-computing (**Cloud and grid computing, advanced multi-core, GPU, and FPGA biomedical applications);
- Immunoinformatics (Epitope prediction, vaccine design, immune system simulators);
- **Molecular evolution** (Models of evolution, reconstruction of phylogenetic trees and networks, comparative genomics);
- **Population genomics** (Haplotype and recombination analysis, structural genomic variation, signatures of natural selection);
- **Sequence analysis** (Multiple sequence alignment, motif discovery, sequence search and clustering);
- **Structural bioinformatics** (RNA and protein structure prediction and classification, molecular docking, RNA and protein design);
- **Systems biology** (Systems approaches to molecular biology, multi-scale modeling, biological networks, synthetic biology);
- **Transcriptomics** (Microarray and sequencing-based transcriptome profiling, novel transcript discovery, alternative splicing, non-coding RNA analysis).

Submission Instructions:

Authors are invited to electronically submit extended abstracts in PDF format by following the instructions at https://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=iccabs2014. Submissions should be prepared using IEEE Computer Society's Word/LaTeX templates available at http://www2.computer.org/portal/web/cscps/formatting and should not exceed 6 pages in length. Accepted abstracts will be published in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

Selected papers will be published in 2 special issues of journals – BMC Genomics and BMC Bioinformatics. A limited number of student travel awards will be made (conditional upon NSF support).

Key Dates:

Papers Submission: March 1, 2014 March 11, 2014 April 1, 2014 11.59 PM EST (No more extensions)

Notification of Acceptance: April 1, 2014 April 8, 2014 April 22, 2014

Author Registration: April 15, 2014 April 28, 2014 Camera-ready Papers Due: April 22, 2014 May 1, 2014

General Chairs:

S.S. Iyengar (Florida International University (FIU)), Sanguthevar Rajasekaran (University of Connecticut) and Sartaj Sahni (University of Florida)

Program Chairs:

Jake Y. Chen (Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis (IUPUI)) and Vasant Honavar (Pennsylvania State University)

Program Committee:

Lipi Rani Acharya (University of New Jing Li (Case Western Reserve University)

Orleans)

Tatsuya Akutsu (Kyoto University)

Dawei Lin (NIH)

Srinivas Aluru (Georgia Institute of Hongfang Liu (Mayo Clinic)

Technology)

Daniel Brown (University of Waterloo) Stefano Lonardi (UC Riverside)

Jake Chen (Indiana University School ofIon Mandoiu (University of Connecticut)

Informatics)
Ming Chan (Theirang University)

Ming Chen (Zhejiang University)

Radhakrishnan Nagarajan (University of Kontucky)

Kentucky)

Matteo Comin (University of Padova)

Mathew Palakal (Indiana University Purdue

University)
Bhaskar Dasgupta (University of Illinois at Bjoern Peters (La Jolla Institute for Allergy

Chicago) and Immunology)

Ramana Davuluri (The Wistar Institute)

Drena Dobbs (Iowa State University)

Nadia Pisanti (Universita di Pisa)

Marylyn Ritchie (Pennsylvania St.

Drena Dobbs (Iowa State University)

Marylyn Ritchie (Pennsylvania State University)

Jorge Duitama (International Center for

Tropical Agriculture (CIAT))

Scott Emrich (University of Notre Dame)
Oliver Eulenstein (Iowa State University)

Liliana Florea (Johns Hopkins University)

Joao Setubal (University of São Paulo)

Xinghua Shi (Harvard Medical School)
Raj Sunderraman (Georgia State University,

Computer Science Department)

Sing-Hoi Sze (Texas A&M University)

Debashis Ghosh (Penn State University) Osamu Gotoh (CBRC & AIST) Katia Guimaraes (UFPE) Steffen Heber (NCSU)

Vasant Honavar (Penn State University) Walter Jessen (Covance)

Sumit Kumar Jha (University of Central Florida) Andrzej Kloczkowski (The Ohio State University) Mehmet Koyuturk (Case Western Reserve University)

Danny Krizanc (Wesleyan University)

Alain Laederach (UNC-Chapel Hill)

Jerzy Tiuryn (Warsaw University)
Duygu Ucar (Stanford University)
Ugo Vaccaro (University of Salerno)
Alfonso Valencia (Spanish National Cancer
Research Centre)
Yu-Ping Wang (Tulane University)
Fang Xiang Wu (UNiversity of
Saskatchewan)
Li Xue (Penn State University)

Changhui Yan (North Dakota State University) Alex Zelikovsky (Georgia State University)

Shaojie Zhang (University of Central Florida)
Dongxiao Zhu (Wayne State University)